Search
KYNN NEWS:
Social Media
Interested in your location becoming a Ky Nanonet Node?
Researcher Database Search
Lost Password and Registration Form
Update your Information
Thursday
Sep292011

UK's Center for Advanced Materials (CAM)

"Condensed matter and materials physics addresses the fundamental properties of solids and liquids, and of all subfields of physics, has generated the largest number of practical applications that have dramatically changed our lives in recent decades. Materials necessarily underpin virtually any technology, since every device must be made from substances that possess favorable properties for a given task. Materials research also has generated numerous breakthroughs in cutting-edge, fundamental physics, such as the quantum Hall effect, colossal magnetoresistance and high temperature superconductivity. It is therefore widely recognized that whoever controls the synthesis and discovery of novel materials generally controls the evolution of basic research into their properties and, ultimately, their successful application in advanced technologies."[Ref1]

Mission: 

"The Center for Advanced Materials seeks to establish a comprehensive, multidisciplinary and transformative research program to investigate novel electronic materials, bringing together experts from across Kentucky to pursue basic research as well as potential applications. Our current and planned research emphasizes the synthesis of novel materials in both bulk-single-crystal and thin-film forms having unusual electrical transport, magnetic and optical properties. Materials already under investigation include transition metal oxides, magnetic clusters, inorganic/organic hybrid systems, single-molecule magnets (SMMs), and spintronics-related devices. The Center also implements an integrated graduate training program that emphasizes both materials synthesis and characterization techniques covering a broad spectrum of materials and experimental probes." [Ref1]

Website Address: http://www.kentuckycam.org/

Location:

UK's Center for Advanced Materials (CAM)

University of Kentucky

Physics-Chemistry Building

Contacts:

Gang Cao, Director, cao@uky.edu

Joseph Brill, Professor Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, jwbrill@uky.edu

Lance DeLong, Professor, lander@uky.edu

William Crummett, Centre College Department of Physics bill.crummett@centre.edu

Bruce Hinds, Associate Professor, bjhinds@engr.uky.edu

Amer S. Lahamer, Professor (Berea College), lahamera@berea.edu

Kwok-Wai Ng, Professor, kwng@uky.edu

Sean Parkin, Assistant Professor, spark2@uky.edu

Douglas Strachan, Assistant Professor Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, doug.strachan@uky.edu

Haluk Karaca, Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

Yang-Tse Cheng, Professor, ycheng@engr.uky.edu

Kaul Ribhu, Professor, rka226@uky.edu

Jack Selegue, Professor, selegue@uky.edu

Beth Guiton, Professor, UK Dept. of Chemistry, beth.guiton@uky.edu

Richard Eitel, Assistant Professor, UK Dept. of Chemical and Materials Engineering,

 Todd Hastings, UK Dept. of Electrical Engineering, view more info

Bill Grise, Professor, Morehead State University Dept. of Industrial & Eng. Tech., w.grise@moreheadstate.edu

Vijay P. Singh, Professor, Center for Nanoscale Science and Engineering, UK Dept. of ECE, vsingh@engr.uky.edu

Sung Seok Seo, Assistant Professor, University of Kentucky Dept. of Physics, a.seo@uky.edu

Susan Odom, Professor, University of Kentucky Dept. of Chemistry, saodom@illinois.edu